question

brian-scheele14374 avatar image
brian-scheele14374 asked Jon Landrum answered

PowerShell - Invoke-RestMethod for authentication

I have been programming in PowerShell for years, but I am pretty new at dealing with APIs. I have written code to deal with Meraki, where authentication just uses an API key. For RingCentral, I am a bit lost on making this work with OAUTH.

The program I am writing needs to be in PowerShell so I can integrate with AD and Exchange.

I have functioning code that I wrote to get data from RingCentral, but that only works if I first go to https://developers.ringcentral.com/api-reference and authorize my Sandbox or Production environment. I currently have a Bearer value hard-coded for now while I test, but will get it out of the code later.

It seems I may be stuck with username/password -type authentication and not something more-preferred that does not require me to have credentials stored somewhere.

In PowerShell, some basic code to get data looks like this:

#IDs, secrets, etc. are fake values below but look similar.

$ProductionClientID = "Q9GTXil5ZwqJhgzS7pBb5X"
$ProductionClientSecret = "IpUdDFj6KVFM7cYSJPXO4cK1i7eWdwvSQGYYofWLl5Oc"

$api    = @{"endpoint" = 'https://platform.ringcentral.com/restapi/v1.0'}
$header = @{"accept" = 'application/json'
            "authorization" = "Bearer 2piE4Dxnz3fGH2T1GBSE2m2D8ewFXOyxOYBN3K3ygsyr4OQ6vVnrnDGZxNOwxCZm7sIiuQipTds6NYm2kIp6cvjJIgNuYcM09NXil3nxKVOZMbJmHbH98EWkdFHNrq0R0oarLoK4OomxFeJdVgPgE5SxwzdDVQmSGgHyq0d66pMSfJ8nPLDkjumFrfxDLIfr3lpCf4ffrT5AV9JetoWCiZG2qvU35x4VsX66aitP8knPLe9aXuGlcXnEX5fLuUl9FOA9NCofZHKBKy3YKJ6EOrVXW8JITPbNml5zLJIHMsY2yvEWnfqyyU513FNcvXQh66P52AY7sNjMZfIiT58Ni7iw7qvlMzlLlHdNlqFeH1boZF"}

#This is just a sample Bearer value - not the actual one that I have hard-coded

Function Get-RingCentralAccount {
    $api.url = "/account/~"
    $uri = $api.endpoint + $api.url
    $request = Invoke-RestMethod -Method GET -Uri $uri -Headers $header
    return $request
}