question

Juan Zapata avatar image
Juan Zapata asked Andrew Prokop commented

Can i send a new message to a GLIP chat via API

Hello:

I am new at this.
I want to know if i can send a new message to a GLIP chat via API.
Thanks for you help.

rest api
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

Phong Vu avatar image
Phong Vu answered Andrew Prokop commented
4 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Juan Zapata avatar image Juan Zapata commented ·

Thank you very much for your response.

0 Likes 0 ·
Andrew Prokop avatar image Andrew Prokop commented ·

I have a question about this, @Phong Vu. What is the API call that I use to create a chat with someone when the conversation is not found with listGlipChats? I need an id for createGlipPost and don't see how to create a new one. Thanks.

Update: Is it Create/Open Conversation? I was looking in the chats and posts sections and nothing popped out at me.

0 Likes 0 ·
Yatin Gera avatar image Yatin Gera ♦♦ Andrew Prokop commented ·

Hi @Andrew Prokop
Your understanding is correct
You need to first create a conversation if it doesn't already exist using the create conversation api
https://developers.ringcentral.com/api-reference/Conversations/createGlipConversation
The API will return you the existing chatId if a conversation already exists with the given list of users and will not create a new chatId

You then need to use the chatId the above API returns to create a post using
https://developers.ringcentral.com/api-reference/Posts/createGlipPost

To add more context, the way glip works is that it considers every text communication as a "conversation" (unless it is a group)
What that means is that if you need to create an ad-hoc channel (not a group) where 2 or more people are involved, you need to have a "conversation" with a unique chatId

Hope this is helpful