Or does this only hide it from the user (similar to how clearing the call log via the desktop app only really hides it for that user)?
If a message is deleted you can still get the message information by retrieving the message store with message is .. /restapi/v1.0/account/accountId/extension/extensionId/message-store/messageId
In response, you will get the field call messageAvalibility shows the status as delete.Message availability status. Message in 'Deleted' state is still preserved with all its attachments and can be restored.
As per here, the RingCentral Retention Management APIallows Account administrators to customize the Data Retention Policy to ensure the organization keeps less than 90 days of message data
2 People are following this question.