question

James Smith avatar image
James Smith asked James Smith commented

How do you pull data for all users within an account?

Please forgive any ignorance on my end as I am very new to the RingCentral platform

We have a need to pull all account data for our institution from RingCentral and I have found an API provided that pulls account data. However, this only pulls data for a specific given account and we need to do a "wide open" pull of all accounts. I have seen some evidence that this ability is in the works. Is that true? Is there a workaround, or another preferred method to pull all accounts?

rest api
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

1 Answer

Phong Vu avatar image
Phong Vu answered James Smith commented

In RingCentral, account is a company and extensions (users) are employees under that account (think of employees in a company). You are wrote all accounts, I guess that you meant all extensions, right?

To read account info, call this API

To read all extensions info, call this API and you may need to read each extension individually to get more details, call this API

Hope this helps!

5 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

James Smith avatar image James Smith commented ·

Thank you and yes it does. It looks like I had my terminology mixed up. Do you happen to know where I could find the accountId for a sandbox account? I do not see it in the admin console

0 Likes 0 ·
Phong Vu avatar image Phong Vu ♦♦ James Smith commented ·

If you read an extension, you will find the account id in the account object in the response.

When calling a RingCentral API, you don't need to explicitly specify the account id or the extension id, you can use the tilde ~ then the platform will recognize the value based on the access token granted for that user (the user which call the API). E.g.