question

rhead avatar image
rhead asked ·

Desktop App - Save Password

When I choose to save my password in the desktop app and I click on Log Out from the Menu, it takes my password off the app and asks me to type it again when I relaunch it. If I don't log out an just opted to exit the app and I relaunch it, it no longer asks me to retype my password. It signs in automatically. 

It looks like the Desktop App is patterned with the Mobile App, wherein when I Log Out and relaunch, it asks me to retype my password. 

It would be nice if the Desktop App will have the ability to save the password, just like the old SoftPhone.
topic-default
1 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

john-manning avatar image
john-manning answered ·
I agree. I thought the Save Password functionality was broken until customer service told me that quitting the application  should force the user to re-enter a password the next time the application is started.

From customer support:
I consulted Tier 3 and they informed me that the save password option on the softphone is designed to keep you logged in if you exit the softphone, rather than logging out. If you log out, the system sees you as trying to change accounts.
If I wanted to change accounts, I would use (in the Mac app) Main Menu > Preferences > Logout. 

Quitting the application entirely and restarting it is a pattern that would be repeated whenever the user's computer is restarted, which is (hopefully) a daily occurrence. I suppose that there are users who need to switch between accounts, but I would assume that there are far more people who are simply shutting down at the end of the day. 
1 comment Share
1 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

John,

For what it's worth (and I'm not sure if you are talking about a Mac or a PC) but whenever I shut down or otherwise start my PC (on Windows 7 Pro), which admittedly is not every night, the softphone app will restart and retain my login information. So even if I have a quick power glitch or some other event which restarts my PC, the app will always start up again for me and log me in.

I don't know what is happening on your system but I thought I would just offer my experience with the situation.

0 Likes 0 · ·
mike avatar image
mike answered ·
RheaD

It should work as Jan described above.  Do you have this button selected? 

  
Share
1 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Write an Answer

Hint: Notify or tag a user in this post by typing @username.

Up to 10 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Customer Spaces