question

cawc-receptionist avatar image
cawc-receptionist asked Bill Marzahn answered

Company Call Handling: how to set Main Number to do not disturb (DND)?

I have my direct line as well as the main company line on my phone. Is there a way for me to set the main line on do not disturb while leaving my direct line turned on?

phone
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

phil-koorsen162 avatar image
phil-koorsen162 answered Chuck Fuscone commented
Hello, I am a Professional Services Advisor and I can help show you a couple of ways to do what this. 

The most efficient would be to create a call queue group and name it 'Main Line'. Add yourself to the group and route all calls coming in from the main line to the group. So when you need DND, you go to select the ' Do not take calls', you will have a 3rd option to not take Call Queue calls. Selecting that will allow you to take calls for your direct line while main line calls will roll to voicemail in the group.

Can you give me more details of exactly how you want the main line calls to be handled as there is some tweaking available.

Phil
4 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Chuck Fuscone avatar image Chuck Fuscone commented ·
Hi Renee, I think with the use of Call queues and proper timers you could achieve the above setup that you outlined.

Are you looking for assistance in configuring and testing this setup for your company?

Let me know

Chuck Fuscone
Certified RC consultant
Chuck@yoritguy.com

1 Like 1 ·
cawc-receptionist avatar image cawc-receptionist commented ·
Hi Phil,

Thank you for your response! A handful of folks are back up for answering the main phone line when needed. They would like the main line to only ring when they are assisting with phone back up. The rest of the time they would only like incoming calls on their direct line. 
0 Likes 0 ·