question

nicholas-head1632 avatar image
nicholas-head1632 asked benjamin-dean commented

Why does adding new API permissions require a whole new app?

I've been developing software professionally for 16+ years, and have never come across an API policy quite like RingCentral's.

Specifically this policy: https://devcommunity.ringcentral.com/ringcentraldev/topics/how-can-i-add-new-permissions-to-an-app-w...

Makes no sense at all to me. The post explains the "how" but not the why. Please help me understand why this crazy amount of hoops is needed to work with your API?

Here's my history with this, and why it's so frustrating:

• We had to switch to RingCentral quickly from another phone provider, so we needed to implement RingCentral's API as quickly as possible, to download call logs and recordings.
  • Our phone numbers/etc were already switched over to RingCentral and collecting data/processing calls.
  • I can't access the production data.. nope. I have to go through the sandbox and am told I need to create my own phone call data/recording data to test with. What? Why isn't there test data provided?
  • Also discover that apps are only graduated once a week (Thursdays) after the team reviews them. What? Why is a team needed? Why only once a week?
  • My code was sitting waiting to talk to production, yet I had to jump through other hoops (you have to make a certain number of successful requests on ALL permissions/endpoints in order to even request your app be reviewed). I just emailed the dev support email until my app was finally put into production.
  • Fast forward a few weeks, and we need to start actually downloading recordings. I try and do it, and get an access denied. Come to find out we need a special hidden API permission to do this. Email dev support over and over until they finally give me the permission on production app.