question

matt-gregory10471 avatar image
matt-gregory10471 asked rafi2637182015 answered

Delete Glip-Only Users

With the introduction of the new all in one RingCentral app, admins can no longer delete Glip-only users on our account that are not tied to a RC phone extension.


This is a huge security problem. When a user leaves the company, there's no way to prevent them from continuing to use RingCentral via their Glip-Only login. Even if I delete their email from our organization, it's still a functional login for RingCentral. Short of granting myself permissions to the terminated user's email and then sending a self-reset, I have no way to manage/disable these users.

This option still exists in the Classic app. We've been advised that Classic will be retired soon (May?) so there is some real urgency here...

messagesubscription
5 comments
1 |1500 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Would add my voice to this post. I will be switched next week to the new app which doesn't allow me to remove users. Only guests could be removed. It's definitively a problem.

PS I have a Glip pro account (not ringoffice).

2 Likes 2 ·

Adding my voice as well. This is extremely frustrating. If there is not a way to do it from our end, is there a way for ringcentral to remove a user from our company?

1 Like 1 ·

Even that is a pain, to have to contact support for every user termination? The old Glip allowed this, it's an existing feature that's been removed. To allow user self signup with no means to remove those users when they're no longer with the company is a swiss cheese architecture.

1 Like 1 ·

Hi @matt-gregory, we understand your frustration. Our Product Team is doing their best on developing essential features on the new app. For feature requests, feel free to submit it in our Ideas Portal at https://ideas.ringcentral.com/.

-1 Like -1 ·
matt-gregory10471 avatar image matt-gregory10471 mary-community-moderator ♦ ·

Were it a new idea, that's where I'd put it. This is an existing feature that's been removed, and the legacy platform is being discontinued. This will very much impact our ability to continue to use RingCentral at all.

1 Like 1 ·

1 Answer

rafi2637182015 avatar image
rafi2637182015 answered

Spent 2-4 combined hours on chat and then phone with RC support until finally from their side they removed our old employees manually.

The first several agents I spoke to didn't even seem to realize you could have non-phone ext users on your company glip/messaging. Finally I got to one that recognized the issue, researched it, and determined that with the new app the only way is for them to manually do it for us every time. Talk about making more work for themselves!

1 |1500 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Customer Spaces

Work together.
From anywhere.

Team messaging, video meetings
and phone - all in one app.


Get the new RingCentral app