Admin: Expire all sessions when an admin resets a user's password.

  • 0
  • 10
  • Idea
  • Updated 5 months ago
So this was awkward. We terminated an employee yesterday. I reset the password, but left the account enabled so that messages could be checked by her managers. Then today she posts to the company Glip team.

My request is... If an admin reset's a user's password, all login sessions should be immediately expired. Or if that's too difficult, provide a link/button to manually expire all sessions. Thereby preventing access to any RC service (Glip, RC Phone, web, mobile, etc).

There are many reasons you might need to keep an account active, but want to prevent any future access by the terminated user.

As a work around, I've created a "deactivated user" role with the minimum feature access allowed, but I feel like the process for handling terminated employees could be significantly improved.

Thanks.
Site Info:
US - Technical Service - 80+ users RC Premium + Contact Center
Photo of Chris Rosa

Chris Rosa

  • 1,426 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
  • awkward

Posted 5 months ago

  • 0
  • 10
Photo of J.B. Ferguson

J.B. Ferguson, Champion

  • 37,254 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Great idea! 
Photo of Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 70 Points
Disabling the user from the User List provides this functionality.  Even if the Admin changes the user's password, unless the user's email address has also been secured, the RingCentral self service password reset would allow the terminated user to regain access.
Photo of Chris Rosa

Chris Rosa

  • 1,406 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I found I was unable to access the user's messages while it was disabled. Also, any new calls to the extension are greeted with a "this extension doesn't exist" message. So in cases where you want to provide coverage for the terminated user's calls, disabled isn't really an option.

Additionally, when users are terminated, we also reset their email access.
Photo of Mitchell

Mitchell

  • 70 Points
Yes, valid comments.  Besides disabling the user, you can also remove the phone # and associate it to your auto-receptionist, another call queue, former manager, allowing future calls to be handled appropriately.