An employee is leaving, how do I forward their extension calls to a group?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 5 years ago
  • Answered
Archived and Closed

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies and is no longer visible to community members. The community moderator provided the following reason for archiving: We have archived this topic as it has either reached a resolution, has become inactive, or information contained in this thread is no longer accurate. If you have questions or comments related to this to thread, please create a new topic, or post to anot

Kerri, from sales, is leaving the company. Her extension is 150. Now that she's gone, we want her calls to go to the Sales Group at extension 5 so that the other reps can begin working her territory. How do I redirect her extensions calls to the Sales Group?
Photo of Robby Ibrahim

Robby Ibrahim

  • 292 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 years ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Ben Foster

Ben Foster, Alum

  • 6,124 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Do you mean calls to a direct number (DigitalLine) assigned to Kerri's extension? You can assign the direct number to your Sales group.
Photo of Robby Ibrahim

Robby Ibrahim

  • 292 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
No I mean, how can I forward calls that come in when people dial extension 150 from our auto assistant? 

Another employee is leaving and so this question has become relevant once again. 
Photo of Robby Ibrahim

Robby Ibrahim

  • 292 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I think I figured out my own answer.

First, disable Kerri's extension and give it another extension number such as 15000 which frees up 150. Second, create a call queue identical to the sales queue Kerri used to belong to and assign it Kerri's old extension 150.

This way if someone tries to dial 150 to reach Kerri, they are actually getting put into a queue where the rest of her department will field her calls. Bingo! Leave this duplicate department enabled for a couple of months until Kerri's clients are all reassigned and then disable it when the transition is complete. 

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.