Call Logs - Limit users permissions that can delete or purge call log data

  • 0
  • 18
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Implemented
There is a business need to allow select users to view call log details; however, we do not want to allow these users to delete or purge data (intentionally or accidentally).
Photo of Larry Mui

Larry Mui

  • 654 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 0
  • 18
Photo of cpeters

cpeters

  • 374 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled Prevent Individual User Purge of Phone Calls.

Is there a way to limit call purging to those with the Queue login and Administrators only? We are in a call center environment and perform Call Quality Evaluations, and want to inhibit the ability for individuals to purge their own phone call recordings.
(Edited)
Photo of Mike

Mike, Official Rep

  • 91,038 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi cpeters ,   There currently is not a way to prevent this, but please click the "Like" button on this page to show your support for this feature. 

Mike 
Photo of Greg

Greg

  • 132 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
This is a really critical management functionality.
Photo of The Operator

The Operator

  • 122 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
From time to time we search the call logs for our business and calling to technical support to put back the call logs takes minutes out of our office hours just to take care of this which should have been available to admins - to prevent users from deleint call logs or at least limit them from making changes on the call logs.

Thank you. This is a much needed feature.
Photo of Thomas Greene

Thomas Greene

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I must agree. Management needs to be able to keep the users from purging their own call logs, especially when automatic recording is turned on!
Photo of Mike

Mike, Official Rep

  • 92,044 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
This won't help everyone, but there is a new Custom Roles feature for users that have Office Premium and Ultimate ONLY  plans up to two (2) or more Users.

For details see: User Roles and Permissions
(Edited)
Photo of Pamela Squires

Pamela Squires

  • 832 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
When will these options be available for those of us with the Standard plan?  Or some way to prevent users from clearing out all their call history from the database?  Seems like that should be an admin-only function.
Photo of Mike

Mike, Official Rep

  • 92,044 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
This is a pretty new feature so it's too early to promise any ETA or tell if our product team plans to roll this out more plans.  For now, it's only available on the following:   Predefined User Roles and Permissions feature is available to all RingCentral Office customers. Custom Roles and Permissions feature is available to Office Premium and Ultimate ONLY up to two (2) or more Users.
(Edited)
Photo of Phone #3

Phone #3

  • 182 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
This reply was created from a merged topic originally titled CALL LOG PURGE BUTTON SHOULD BE REMOVABLE FEATURE FOR MANAGING SALESPEOPLE.

Account type: US

CALL LOG PURGE BUTTON SHOULD BE REMOVABLE FEATURE FOR MANAGING
SALESPEOPLE

the purge button should be removed for a manager account level
access as well as user level access for the CALL LOG because
poor performing salespeople can simply erase their own
recordings without a the owner or top administrator being able
to monitor those call. Without giving me the option to remove
the purge button for a manager and user level of access from the
call log, i cannot give access to anyone else in my company to
the call logs and it forces me as the owner to be unable to
delegate the task of managing and listening to the quality of
sales calls.

I feel that this is such an important feature that if another
company had this feature it would tempt me to switch to that
company.

Please make an effort to implement this feature and update me on
progress.

Thank you.
Photo of Bill Usher

Bill Usher

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Not just salespeople!  The "delete all" feature should be turned off to protect me from myself!  I'm the system Admin and using my PC Softphone, I just deleted the entire company Call Log (which we really need) with one click!  Ouch!  That's because deleting it in my Softphone ALSO deleted the whole Call Log on the website!  Fortunately, Ring Central Support was able to "undelete" it for me.  They can do that if you request it within 5 days of deletion, apparently.
(Edited)
Photo of Cecile Glassy

Cecile Glassy, Champion

  • 17,386 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
You can restrict the users' access to do things to their call logs by Custom Roles if that feature is available on your account.  That is how we do it.   We have granted all users the ability to view their logs but no other actions regarding their log files.