Call Logs: Remove "Delete" Option From Softphone Users

  • 2
  • 4
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Answered
With regards to the softphone/user portals, I find a serious breach in security that my employees are able to log in to their softphones/portals and clear their call logs.  From an admin perspective, I go in manually to each users' extension and back up the recorded calls/logs.  However, we recently had a user delete her entire call log for the previous month.  RC tech. support is able to see this purge and restore the logs, but only if I catch it and call in - why can't admin's restrict/disable this feature onto our employees?  I only want my staff to make/receive calls, not have the ability to purge HIPAA related calls that potentially go negatively in an attempt to fool the admins.

After speaking with tech. support, the only option for me is to: 1) call tech. support monthly; 2) have THEM review my account to ensure nothing was purged in the month prior; 3) then I can backup my call logs/recordings manually  

This purge feature has no place residing with the normal users, and should be able to be restricted from the admin console, or permanently removed.
Photo of David Carpenter

David Carpenter

  • 70 Points
  • Upset

Posted 2 years ago

  • 2
  • 4
Photo of Brandon

Brandon, Champion

  • 18,532 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
This is a new feature, but I think it will solve your issue and I am not sure why support didn't suggest it.

Go to your admin portal under users > roles and create a new rule called 'restricted' an uncheck all the features you don't want them to have access to.  Then put those users into the restricted role.
Photo of Garrett Barnwell

Garrett Barnwell

  • 232 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I wonder can you achieve this by creating a new role and remove the option for the role?  For example, I created a new role called "basic_user" and used the standard user as a template.  When you select what access to give it you will see:


just uncheck edit call log which is on by default for the standard user, so I imagine its on for every user-level as well.  Hope this helps!
Photo of Mike

Mike, Official Rep

  • 89,840 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Brandon,  Thank you for assisting!!!

David,  Garrett's suggestion should work.  It's not automatically turned on for all roles, but, by default all new users default to the "Standard (International)" role, which by default gives them the options below. 



Here's a more detailed Help Topic that may assist you if you need further information: User Roles and Permissions

NOTE: Standard (International) is assigned to new users by default.

Predefined
User Roles and Permissions feature is available to all RingCentral
Office customers. Custom Roles and Permissions feature is available to
Office Premium and Ultimate customers ONLY.

(Edited)
Photo of David Carpenter

David Carpenter

  • 70 Points
Everyone, thank you so much for the quick responses - this has saved the day!

However, one followup: so I've created the new group that I want, and removed the "edit call log" feature from this group.  However, when the users still log into their softphone app, the "delete call log" button is still illuminated and actionable. Can anyone confirm if this will still affect the call logs for this user upon my review in the admin console, or if this is only going to clear their personal cache on their softphone (more of a visual change than physical change).

Thanks everyone!
Photo of Brandon

Brandon, Champion

  • 17,294 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
I don't know for sure, but I think the fastest way to find out will be to try it and see for yourself.  Let us know the result.
Photo of Josh Youngblood

Josh Youngblood

  • 538 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hi David,
Any luck with this one?  I posted a similar feature request regarding the archiver that you might be interested in.  https://community.ringcentral.com/ringcentral/topics/ability-to-set-archiver-options-for-all-extensi...

Thanks
Photo of Foad Rekabi

Foad Rekabi

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
As a follow up and extension to this subject, we have been able to limit the users' access to call logs with a custom role.  However GLIP doesn't seem to respect the related settings in the custom role.  The users are able to delete call log items with their GLIP access.  Is there any particular step from the Admin perspective that needs to be taken for this take effect in GLIP?
Photo of Saadet - Community Support

Saadet - Community Support, Official Rep

  • 19,380 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hello Foad Rekabi,

Apologies for the delay. We heard back from our Product Team who is aware of this gap and are working on fixing this next year. I was not given a firm ETA but once I do, I will update you :)