Caller ID: select Outbound Caller ID on desk phone

• Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
We have a number of clients that have multiple outwardly facing numbers and have requested the ability to select the outbound caller id on a call by call basis from their Polycom VVX desktop phones. Is this even an option? In my research, I have not located any information that suggests that it would be possible but, admittedly, I have limited experience with the system and am always learning. :)

I have suggested that, if the client want's to do this that they can initiate the call from their desktop or mobile app and set the outbound caller ID that way and either complete the call using the app or flip it to their desk phone as a workaround.

Thanks to the community for sharing their experience and knowledge!
Photo of Midwest Protech, LLC

Posted 3 years ago

Photo of Kim

Kim, Alum

• 43,864 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Try Desktop App

(Edited)
Kim, thanks for the reply. So, the pre-call routine would be to select the outbound caller ID with the desktop app then place the call with the desk phone? I was thinking that was going to be the way to do it but was also researching if there was any functionality on the desk phones themselves to do this.
Photo of Kim

Kim, Alum

• 43,814 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Correct - This will be the fastest and most efficient way to do it! :-) 
Great! Thanks for clearing that up. On a related note, is there a way to select numbers that are assigned to a call queue as a user's outbound caller ID ?
Photo of Kim

Kim, Alum

Yes, but only if the user is a member of the call queue! :-) 
Ok, could a user be a member of a call queue without incoming calls ringing to their extension?
Photo of Kim

Kim, Alum

If the user needs to be in the queue for Caller ID purposes, but doesn't actually want to take calls - they can turn "Accept call queue calls - OFF" on the Desktop App.