Delete Glip Conversations

  • 3
  • 3
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Our group would like to be able to delete conversations in Glip. To date, we've been instructed we can only delete what the user themselves wrote line by line. Please inform if there is a work-around or if this is in the works. Thank you.
Photo of Sandy

Sandy

  • 142 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 1 year ago

  • 3
  • 3
Photo of Jared

Jared, Alum

  • 976 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hi Sandy, 

Team admins are also able to delete Glip conversations. 

  • Archive Team - When a project is over, or a team simply isn't needed anymore, archive it instead of deleting it so that all of the team's content is preserved and fully searchable. Archived teams are moved to a separate section at the bottom of the Teams page so that they don't clutter up the list of active teams. You can always bring an archived team back to life by clicking on the Restore button next to its entry at the bottom of the Teams page.
  • Delete Team - Deletes the team. Note that you should only delete a team if it was accidentally created, or if you are positive no one will ever need access to any of the conversation or content in the team. Otherwise, it is better to leave the team as-is. If it is no longer used, it will quickly disappear from the left pane as more active conversations push it off the bottom. But, it can still be found on the Teams page, and its content can still be found via search, so that it remains useful for future reference. 
  • Close Conversation - Closing a conversation will remove it from the left pane,but will not delete the contents.
Photo of Sandy

Sandy

  • 142 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Thank you for the clarification Jared. Appreciate the response.

Photo of Ted Jaffe

Ted Jaffe, Official Rep

  • 2,896 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hi Sandy - to clarify - are you looking to delete a 1-1 conversation or a group/team conversation?

If it's a 1-1 conversation you are right there is no way to delete/clear it all in one action.  This is something we're contemplating on addressing in the future.

If it's a group/team conversation those can be deleted by the team administrator as referenced above.

Can you please clarify what you meant by "Delete" above for us per the above? Many thanks.
Photo of Sandy

Sandy

  • 142 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Ted,

Looking to delete a 1-1 conversation. Appreciate the input and getting back so quickly.

Photo of Ted Jaffe

Ted Jaffe, Official Rep

  • 2,896 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Great, thanks for clarifying.  We will look into it!  
Photo of Sandy

Sandy

  • 142 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thank you!
Photo of Susan Lindsay

Susan Lindsay

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
The ability to delete 1-to-1 conversations would be extremely useful.  Is it possible for the Admin to delete 1-to-1 conversations?
Photo of Jeff

Jeff

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
This has been a while since there looks like there was an update. Are you now able to delete 1-to-1 conversations at this time?
Photo of Saadet - Community Moderator

Saadet - Community Moderator, Official Rep

  • 62,226 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi Jeff, there's still no ETA at this time. Thanks for checking in! 
Photo of Spencer Gargan

Spencer Gargan

  • 60 Points
Hello - 
  • I am gathering that ring central keeps indefinitely the conversations that occur on its platform.
  • The administrator has the only capacity to delete team communication however its just archived in that instance.

I have a problem of not being able to delete conversations - If your team is contemplating adding this function. Please consider I am contemplating terminating your company as a means of deleting conversations.
Photo of Julie Sperritt

Julie Sperritt

  • 582 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hi, I'm interested in the first part of this too - what does delete really mean? Is it wiped from all sources or (as we are gathering) stored?
Where is the conversation stored and as a super admin how can I track across conversations (active, archived, deleted)?
Useful not only for security but also potential HR cases!
Photo of Saadet - Community Moderator

Saadet - Community Moderator, Official Rep

  • 62,226 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hey there! Here are some more details from our Product Team :)

1) What does delete really mean?Is it wiped from all sources or (as we are gathering) stored?

  • If a data retention policy is set and the data is cleared by this mechanism the data is actually deleted from our servers. We cannot retrieve data once it's wiped by the DRP.
  • If a user deletes a message from within the app and no data retention has impacted it, the message still lives on our server but the message is no longer visible in the app. The data could be retrieved upon request from the company admin (which we validate via customer support)

2) Where is the conversation stored?


3) and as a super admin how can I track acrossconversations (active, archived, deleted)?

This is on the roadmap for next year! When I learn more I'll letcha know :)