Details about the affects on Glip when disabling user in RC

  • 0
  • 1
  • Idea
  • Updated 12 months ago
When disabling a user in RingCentral, you're able to reenable them again without losing any settings. However, their Glip account is deactivated, they lose their history, documents, and Teams they created. Reenabling an account in RC should reenable it in Glip as well but instead creates a new Glip account for the user.

Or at the very least, when you click the disable button, you're presented with information that the user will not be able to make or receive calls, or use mobile apps. Nowhere did it state that the Glip account would be deactivated. I had to contact support to get the user's original account restored but their Teams sound like they aren't recoverable.
Photo of Joel Borjesson

Joel Borjesson

  • 218 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 12 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Saadet

Saadet, Employee

  • 69,522 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hey Joel, one of the reasons why this happens is because it's part of the requirements for SOC 2. You do have up until 30 days once the account has been disabled. After that, it will be deleted.
Photo of Joel Borjesson

Joel Borjesson

  • 218 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thanks, Saadet, but the user's Glip Teams they created are gone forever. That was unexpected and there should've been a warning. 
Are we not supposed to use Teams as a permanent area for collaboration since they are removed when the creator of the Team leaves the org? Should I tell my users not to use or trust Teams since they may not be there one day?
Photo of Saadet

Saadet, Employee

  • 69,522 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hey Joel, that actually shouldn't have happened. I'm gonna create a case for you with Tech Support so they can gather more details and see what happened