How do I keep a Glip link private?

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 7 months ago
  • Answered
How do I keep a Glip link private? All the links I share in a 1:1 conversation thread are posting to the shared "All Links" area for all to see and, in some cases, that is not appropriate. I have checked all my settings but don't see any options around sharing of links and files.
Photo of MsMags

MsMags

  • 224 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • perplexed

Posted 7 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of Shelly Roth

Shelly Roth, Champion

  • 1,260 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
when creating a link there should be an option to choose who you want to share it with when you hit "post link".  An option should pop up with different people from your organization, or I believe you can start typing in the names of who you want to share it with and they should pre-populate as long as they are added members of your organization.  
Photo of Shelly Roth

Shelly Roth, Champion

  • 1,260 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
Also, I do believe that all admins can see everything, regardless of who it's shared to. They may just need to select a different view to see it all, but I think it's available to them.
Photo of MsMags

MsMags

  • 224 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Well that is good to know.  Thank you!  My concern isn't with privacy so much (though it is a bit Big Brother)  as we already have a list of useless links in the links area and so it doesn't seem very helpful. It would be better if you could select which link is just for that conversation and which should persist in the links area.
Photo of Saadet - Community Support

Saadet - Community Support, Official Rep

  • 43,480 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hey Flynn, is this a one-on-one conversation with someone else? What is your goal with keeping a link private? Are you looking to simply house the link for further use but don't want anyone to see it?
Photo of MsMags

MsMags

  • 224 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
well two things
1) link is private (like a link to mapquest giving directions to my house if a coworker is picking me up, say).  I don't want that shared with anyone else
2) link is appropriate for that person but not for others, like I am sharing work in progress. I can't tell but in the links area it APPEARS there are a lot of links from conversations I wasn't a part of.
3) link is helpful for that conversation but isn't something useful to save and I just don't want to keep it.  My links area also has a lot of clutter. 

So those were the workflows I was thinking about. Personally I would like to have to tag a link in a conversation as worth keeping to have it appear in links area. If I didn't tag it, it wouldn't save there.

But maybe I am unique here.
Photo of Saadet - Community Support

Saadet - Community Support, Official Rep

  • 42,642 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hey Flynn,

Links will only be visible to People and Teams that you have directly shared them to. For instance, if I share a link with Joan in a Glip conversation (between the two of us) only she will see it. 

Now, if you share the link in a Team Glip Room, all members of that Glip Room can see the link. 

If you are looking to get rid of some links that you have saved under My Links or a Team Room (only links you've shared), you can do so by deleting them:
Photo of MsMags

MsMags

  • 224 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thank you for your help!  The delete had confused me as you need to refresh the page to see the deletion (at least I did).  But it worked after that.