Option to Disable Windows Destop App update notification

  • 2
  • 11
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
  1. Account type - US
  2. A brief description of the business - Insurance
  3. A high level description of the product or feature being requested - Currently the Windows Desktop app notifies you when an update is available.
  4. A typical use case scenario explaining how your business would use the feature - The ability to turn off this notification would allow us to deploy the desktop to all users and disable the update notification for regular users.  This would then allow us to leave it on for the IT Department.  Before we deploy any software to our employees we like to test it for a few days before deploying it.  In case there is an issue or if some features or layouts changed.  We like to notify them before deploying it.  
  5. Right now there is no way to disable the desktop client from checking for updates.  Our 50+ employees hate seeing the notification since they can't update it because they don't have Admin rights on their machines.  It would be nice to only be able to toggle it off or or via the registry.  Then I could leave this on for our IT Department and we could test and confirm it works then just install for all employees.  This would save us from many Support tickets asking to install the latest update.  It also annoys the end users for 2-3 days while we test and confirm before we deploy it. 
Photo of Chris Verdin

Chris Verdin, Champion

  • 3,388 Points 3k badge 2x thumb
  • frustrated

Posted 4 years ago

  • 2
  • 11
Photo of Ben Greiner

Ben Greiner

  • 398 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Agreed. This is a problem on the Mac side too — with RingCentral for Mac and Glip.
Photo of Nathan Rouke

Nathan Rouke

  • 64 Points
Our users are not given admin access so getting the prompts to go away means having an admin visit 70+ workstations. A disable option would be great.
Photo of Orlando Gonzales

Orlando Gonzales

  • 60 Points

We do not want our users updating any software on there machines.  It is how we keep everything uniform and easy to manage already I am showing multiple version of the client running on our machines.  We manage these upgrades to be able to troubleshoot at test on a technical level.  Please disable this as soon as possible
Photo of David Beckon

David Beckon

  • 120 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Did anyone ever find a solution for this other than a reinstall? Would like to accomplish this via registry and GPO ...

Thanks
(Edited)
Photo of Donna Bussure

Donna Bussure

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Has there been any update on this?  Expected timeframe for resolution?
Photo of Jessica - Community Moderator

Jessica - Community Moderator, Official Rep

  • 13,044 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
We haven't heard anything yet Donna. 
Photo of Fast

Fast

  • 154 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
As an org with non-admin users on macOS and Windows being able to toggle off the update notification would be extremely helpful. It's frustrating for our users to pop-up message that they can't do anything about except click cancel.