RingCentral Meetings Outlook Plugin has overwritten the content of your invitation

  • 0
  • 4
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
After a recent Windows update and reboot, I added an RC Meeting to an existing invite.  When I went to send, I received a dialog message stating: "RingCentral Meetings Outlook Plugin has overwritten the content of your invitation.  The invitation now includes only the updated Zoom information.  Your original content is available on the clipboard.  

I believe I turned this off in the past, so it feels like my settings are being lost with updates.  But if there is not a setting for this, there should be (I don't see it in the settings now).  Plus I think it is presumptuous to think that the RC content is more important than my carefully crafted agenda or that it is more important than what might be currently on my clipboard.  I would recommend that RC first asks if it is OK to replace my clipboard contents, and that it puts the RC content on the clipboard, not my carefully crafted agenda.  I need the RC content at the bottom so that when I assign agenda items to people they see themselves on the agenda and remember to prepare.  Feels like RC is causing me a bunch of extra work.
Photo of Shannon Holck

Shannon Holck

  • 114 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • upset

Posted 4 months ago

  • 0
  • 4
Photo of BIS Tech Support

BIS Tech Support

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
I googled this issue and this is the only hit I got.  I agree there needs to be clarify on what this does, what triggers it and how to control it.  It is overwriting our users customizations of the message.  It seems to trigger every time the subject line is changed and "poof" the body of the invite is overwritten.
Photo of YippeeKayaye

YippeeKayaye

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Does anyone have any response to this?  The layout of the Ring Central Meeting invitation is not ideal and we have to modify and add info for the attendees.  When we hit send invite, it overwrites all the changes and sends the default layout without any opportunity to cancel.  The attendees end up getting incomplete info and we have to send a followup email to everyone.

We need a way to disable this or at least understand what triggers it.  It doesn't seem to happen every time.  We also need a way to modify the default invite content.  The layout is not tidy, there are call in numbers we don't want people to use, and the meeting ID is not indicated very well.

Anyone else seeing this popup?



Photo of Shannon Holck

Shannon Holck

  • 94 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Sometimes I see it, sometimes I don't, but not sure if it's because I once clicked "Do not remind me again" ... and I don't really need the "RingCentral section" so much as the portion of the meeting invite that it just wiped out (my agenda and message to the attendees). 
Photo of YippeeKayaye

YippeeKayaye

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
If we click the "do not remind" it just overwrites and doesn't tell us that our invitation details got overwritten.

It also happens a lot on meeting changes and resending invitations.
Photo of Saadet - Community Support

Saadet - Community Support, Official Rep

  • 41,368 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hmmm....I do not believe you should be receiving this error message. I would suggest opening a case so we can investigate.

Photo of YippeeKayaye

YippeeKayaye

  • 112 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thanks.  I do have a case open as well & sounds like it's been sent over to the partner/developer.
Photo of Saadet - Community Support

Saadet - Community Support, Official Rep

  • 41,368 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Perfect!
Photo of Fogg

Fogg

  • 366 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I would like to add that this is also happening to us but its overwriting the whole message.



(Edited)