Stop Posting to Team Chat When Creating a Task

  • 0
  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
  • Answered
I am exploring the option to use RingCentral tasks to centralize task management (instead of using Microsoft Planner).  

However, every time I create a Task or Update a Task, it creates a new post in the Team Chat.

Is there a way to stop Tasks from posting to the Team Chat?  
Photo of Luis Sanchez

Luis Sanchez

  • 802 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 months ago

  • 0
  • 1
Photo of J.B. Ferguson

J.B. Ferguson, Champion

  • 33,504 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Certainly is. Make certain that when you create a task you save it by using the pull down list and select YOUR name. In your case it would probably be listed as Luis Sanchez (me). If you save it to the Team initially, all edits will save to the team. If you save it to yourself initially, any updates/edits will only go to you.








Photo of Keith Lazarus

Keith Lazarus

  • 262 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
If I understood Luis's request correctly, he was looking to create a task against a team but to suppress the commenting from appearing in the view.  J.B.'s solution appears to create the task in the [Username](Me) area and any discussion that takes place on the task appears there.

Sometimes it's useful to see the discussion related to a task in a view but othertimes it's nothing but a distraction.  It would be great if there was filter that could be toggled to allow task comments to display (or be suppressed). 

I'm putting this here, rather than adding a new top-level topic as I *think* this is what Luis was after.