Un-assign a phone from a user

  • 0
  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 3 months ago
Admins should be able to un-assign phones from users. This is a very basic feature for any phone system. I'm just starting with RC, and I'm very surprised to find that RC makes this process very difficult. As it is, you either have to delete the user or open a support ticket with RC.

To clarify, I'm not referring to swapping one phone for another. I'm suggesting that Admins should be able to check a box to completely remove and disassociate a phone from a user.
Photo of Oto

Oto

  • 338 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 months ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of Brandon Hill

Brandon Hill

  • 528 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
If you're just starting you are going to find there are a LOT! of "very basic features"  that have been completely overlooked by ring central.  Wait till someone in a queue leaves for vacation and forgets to put themselves on DND.  As an admin you can't fix it and the call won't roll to overflow queues.  This as with everything else always requires a chat or call to support.  Very frustrating.  I have a very long list of issues just like this... 
Photo of Cecile Glassy

Cecile Glassy, Champion

  • 17,330 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
USA-based acct | 2287 Users | 3800 DID lines | 28 sites | all Polycom VVX500 phone handsets 

08-23-2018   This is not difficult and does not require a Support ticket to do if you have Admin rights. Not sure how you were trained, it seems like you should ask for additional training via your Customer Account manager or go to RingCentral University

https://go.ringcentral.com/customer-success-webinars.html

and work through some of their online Admin trainings there. 

In Users tab of the portal >  Add user with no phone

Create one "temporary user" provisioning user account === we named ours "9991 - UnassignedUsers" --- this is used for the same process every day.  You use is as a "substitute user" 

In Phones and Devices tab of the portal 

Enter the last 4 digits of the phone Mac Address you want to unassign from a user.

Edit User     in the new window that pops up    Change to the new Temp User Ext you created.




We reuse that temporary user extension many times every day.



(Edited)
Photo of Jay Nichols

Jay Nichols

  • 2,334 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Seems like a kluged work-around for something so basic as removing/deleting a user.
Photo of Brandon Hill

Brandon Hill

  • 528 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Yea, you also have to be very careful when removing a user or it will delete the number.  So if you are trying to maintain your list of DID's it's very very easy to lose one.  
Photo of Oto

Oto

  • 338 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I asked about this after seeing your comment. Apparently, you lose the DID if the number was directly associated with a user. If the number was associated with a softphone or desk phone and you delete the user, the phone becomes unassigned with the associated number, and you don't lose the DID.