User Groups - Inherited permissions - delete logs/recordings

  • 1
  • 3
  • Idea
  • Updated 1 month ago
After much investigation, it appears that

"When a user is assigned to be a User group manager, the user automatically inherits some permissions. This is done by way of a secondary role that is in effect in the background & can’t be modified by the admin." KB10632

These additional permissions allow the user to purge the call log and recordings. This action does not show in the audit trail and requires you to contact support to restore or even ID what action has taken place and when on the account. Once you become aware of any missing data if it's over 72 hours, your recordings have gone with no recourse.

I have removed the permission which allows you to purge data from Call Log, setting the user as a manager of the user group restores this permission via the background role.

I cannot find a solution which allows managers/team leaders to self-manage their team and recordings without inadvertently giving them permissions to delete.

I still cannot believe this is the correct function with no alternative. 

Please fix.
Photo of Richard

Richard

  • 266 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
  • confused in the thought process during RBAC creation

Posted 1 month ago

  • 1
  • 3

Be the first to post a reply!