question

Joseph Leedy avatar image
Joseph Leedy asked Joseph Leedy commented

Need Advice On Storing Client ID and Secret

Hello,

I'm new to RingCentral and a little confused about the best practices around managing the Client ID and Client Secret.

I'm building an integration for an e-commerce platform to allow transactional order messages to be sent to customers via SMS. In the past, with other API integrations, I've created an interface in the platform's Admin panel where the merchant (owner of the store/website) can configure their access credentials that are used for retrieving the API token.

If I understand RC correctly, however, I must first create an App and then somehow provide the merchant with its Client ID and Client Secret. Those values, in turn, would be used to collect the merchant's access credentials (in the Admin panel) via OAuth or a JWT.

Is it safe to store the Client ID and Client Secret in my integration, or is there a better way to provide them to the merchant?

My intention is to make this integration available publicly to merchants and have it be as simple as possible to set up.

sms and text messagingsending sms
2 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Phong Vu avatar image Phong Vu ♦♦ commented ·

I am not clear about the integration and the service to give you best advice.

Do you expect one setup per RingCentral account, and all users under that account can use your integration as your integration will send SMS from a chosen phone number? Or, do you expect that each user (in a RingCentral account) will do the setup for himself/herself and your app will send SMS from his/her own phone number?

0 Likes 0 ·
Joseph Leedy avatar image Joseph Leedy Phong Vu ♦♦ commented ·

It would be the former. One RingCentral user, the merchant, would configure the integration to use their phone number to send messages to their customers.

0 Likes 0 ·

1 Answer