question

Aaron Smith avatar image
Aaron Smith asked Aaron Smith edited

RingCentral DESKTOP App or RingCentral PHONE App for Citrix Integration?

I'm a systems administrator supporting a Citrix virtual desktop and application environment all running on Windows Server 2019 Standard 1809 servers with Citrix VDA version 2012. All of our end users are running either Windows 10 or Windows 11 with various versions of the Citrix workspace app.

I've been reading RingCentral's support instructions for getting the Web app, Desktop app, and Phone app working with Citrix Desktop using Citrix Workspace. These instructions: Using the Citrix VDI integration with the RingCentral app talk about "Optimizing your Calls with Citrix". However, the RingCentral Desktop app when installed on the Windows server that hosts our Citrix Desktops has no "Optimize Media Quality for Citrix" slider. While trying to understand what I was missing and assuming that the "Optimize Media Quality for Citrix" slider was an important step, I discovered these instructions: Installing the RingCentral Phone Plugin For Citrix. While following those instructions and attempting to install the RingCentral Phone app on the Windows server that hosts our Citrix desktops, I discovered that I had to follow these instructions: Installing Wireless LAN service on Windows Server to operate the RingCentral Phone desktop | RingCentral Phone app. After getting all of that done, I did find the "Optimize Media Quality for Citrix" slider on the Advanced tab on the RingCentral Phone app.

In testing the RingCentral DESKTOP app and the RingCentral PHONE app with Citrix Desktop using Citrix Workspace, both seem to work just fine. With RingCentral making a huge deal about moving away from the RingCentral PHONE app to the RingCentral DESKTOP app, I find it odd that the PHONE app is still supported. So my question for the RingCental moderators is: