question

jason7082 avatar image
jason7082 asked John Wang Deactivated commented

Programmatically dial a number

Hi,

I'm new to the Ring Central developer community - although my company has been using Ring Central for a while now.

We are investigating ways to programmatically dial the telephone number of a new lead from our Ring Central number.

Reviewing the API docs, the best option I can see there is the RingOut service, where-by the from number is one of our Ring Central numbers and the to number is that of the lead. From my understanding the ring-out will call our number and the to number, and connect the 2 once they are answered.

Is this the correct understanding of the service and could it meet our requirements?

Many thanks,

Jason

getting started
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

brandon-hein avatar image
brandon-hein answered John Wang Deactivated commented
My company recently completed a task similar to this.  We used the RingOut Api functionality to accomplish this goal.  Be mindful of the number of RingOut Requests you will be making per minute.  There's a set number of api hits you can make per minute.  I highly recommend reading up on the documentation around that specific api, so you don't get bogged down having to wait during the throttle period.
2 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

jason7082 avatar image jason7082 commented ·
Thanks Brandon.

I'll dig a bit deeper into the documentation for this API - I just wanted to confirm that this achievable before we spent too much time on this.

Since you've had experience with this before, can you tell me - how is the best way to be able to test this? Currently I only have one sandbox account. Do we need to 2 to be able to test the from and to numbers?

Many thanks,
Jason
0 Likes 0 ·
John Wang avatar image John Wang ♦♦ commented ·