question

michael-antonio avatar image
michael-antonio asked ·

Mobile app: Texts come through even when 3G turned off

I noticed a problem with iPhone 6 Plus and iPhone 6s Plus. When you turn off 3G on your phone and the mobile app, the Ring Central texts still come through on the phone. Any idea how to stop this? Only want the texts to come through when on wifi.
topic-default
1 |1000 characters needed characters left characters exceeded

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

J.B. Ferguson avatar image
J.B. Ferguson answered ·
Michael,

Texts are sent through the Short Messaging Service (SMS), which utilizes the cellular voice network and not the mobile or data network. So, unfortunately what you are trying to do can't be accomplished.

Per my answer to your direct question to me in another thread, since I'm not a communications engineer, I did some research and found this to be the case in every thread I found. Here is an answer to a question from an individual who is attempting to do the same thing you are trying to accomplish...

" Your device does NOT do this through the data connection, so even though you might have mobile data turned off, or in this case, connected to wifi. It's using the Short message service center to communicate the data, this is over the voice network effectively, NOT DATA."

I hope this helps...

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

kim avatar image
kim answered ·
Turn off Notifications under Settings and testing that.

2 comments Share

Kim,

I don't have an iPhone and my Android phone does not have the capability to turn off notifications in RingCentral. Having said that, I don't think that will be the answer to what Michael is looking to do.