Stop Posting to Team Chat When Creating a Task

  • 0
  • 2
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
I am exploring the option to use RingCentral tasks to centralize task management (instead of using Microsoft Planner).  

However, every time I create a Task or Update a Task, it creates a new post in the Team Chat.

Is there a way to stop Tasks from posting to the Team Chat?  
Photo of Luis Sanchez

Luis Sanchez

  • 866 Points 500 badge 2x thumb

Posted 12 months ago

  • 0
  • 2
Photo of J.B. Ferguson

J.B. Ferguson, Champion

  • 36,958 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Certainly is. Make certain that when you create a task you save it by using the pull down list and select YOUR name. In your case it would probably be listed as Luis Sanchez (me). If you save it to the Team initially, all edits will save to the team. If you save it to yourself initially, any updates/edits will only go to you.








Photo of Keith Lazarus

Keith Lazarus

  • 900 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
If I understood Luis's request correctly, he was looking to create a task against a team but to suppress the commenting from appearing in the view.  J.B.'s solution appears to create the task in the [Username](Me) area and any discussion that takes place on the task appears there.

Sometimes it's useful to see the discussion related to a task in a view but othertimes it's nothing but a distraction.  It would be great if there was filter that could be toggled to allow task comments to display (or be suppressed). 

I'm putting this here, rather than adding a new top-level topic as I *think* this is what Luis was after. 
Photo of Mark Blake

Mark Blake

  • 488 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
I agree,  when posting Task or Event to a team,   the group discussion lists get filled up with nonsense.   The teams discussion area should be just for discussions.  There isnt any need for notifications because everyone will see the Task/Event in their relevant dashboard
Photo of Matthew Grupp

Matthew Grupp

  • 62 Points
Is it possible to make the task default to your location?  For example, if I am in my space, then the task would default there.  If I have selected a team, can I then create a task and have it default there.  If we create scores or hundreds of Teams for different projects over the years, it would be very laborious to sort through a long list each time.  It would be much easier to be working within a Team, reviewing posts, etc. and then quickly make a Task with it defaulting to that location.

Photo of Jessica - Community Moderator

Jessica - Community Moderator, Official Rep

  • 6,994 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Matthew, 

When you add a task from a location instead of from the task overview tab, it will automatically post the task to whatever location you are posting from.