question

David Eisenbeisz avatar image
David Eisenbeisz asked Phong Vu answered

How to send SMS from existing 3rd party app?

In a previous post I asked whether I could use my RingCentral business account to send an SMS from our Synology NAS whenever there is a problem with our server or network that needs my instant attention. I received a response that said it is indeed possible, and also several RingCentral developer web pages were suggested.

What I am struggling with now is probably very simple to someone with web development experience, but my experience with writing code is limited to applications related to civil engineering; and most of that involves writing applications for AutoCAD and MS Excel for use in our office. The apps I have written are almost exclusively for solving tedious math problems or automating/customizing repetitive tasks in AutoCAD. As a result, most of my coding experience is with VBA, AutoLISP, VB.net, and a little C#. I have no experience with Java, Python, etc.

The latest Synology DIskStation Operating System (DSM 7.2) has a feature for sending SMS alerts but I don't know what I should enter into the fields it requires. Only 3 providers nobody has ever heard of are included on their list of SMS providers, so if I want to send an SMS via RingCentral I have to create a custom webhook to do it.

The following items are required as inputs under "Setup Custom Webhooks" in the DSM control panel:

Webhook URL - I assume this would be https://platform.devtest.ringcentral.com/restapi/v1.0/account/accountId/extension/extensionId/sms in the API sandbox, but I am not developing an app. What should it be for a generic webhook application? How do I change this URL to be the URL for our RC phone system?

HTTP method - POST

Content-type - there are four choices: application/json, application/x-www-form-urlencoded, multipart/form-data, and text/xml. I have no idea which one I should use. Multiple headers can be selected.

HTTP Body: