News & Announcements User Community Developer Community

Welcome to the RingCentral Community

Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.

Search
Make sure to review our Terms of Use and Community Guidelines.
  Please note the community is currently under maintenance and is read-only.
Home » Users
Unable to view Admin Prompts when using RC Meetings to provide remote support
Tags: meetings
Apr 16, 2020 at 6:23am   •   4 replies  •  0 likes
brian-caskey

I am an IT remote support Tech. I am trying to use RC Meetings to provide remote support. Remote users do not have local admin rights on their PC's. The remote user is able to share their screen and I am able to take control of their mouse. If I try to make any change that

requires admin credentials, the prompt will pop up on the remote users screen asking for those

credentials. I as the remote support can't see those prompts because they are hidden from me. How can I provide support when I can't enter in the admin credentials when required? Why is this hidden from me? I can't very well provide admin credentials to the remote user.

4 Answers
answered on Dec 4, 2020 at 7:08am  

Is there a way to enable/disable that option via the command line (or regedit)?

answered on Apr 16, 2020 at 6:45am  
Hi Brian, in the RC meetings app for every user, you have to check the box "Enable the remote control of all applications". Unfortunately, this will require admin rights to make the change, so it must be done while you have admin access to the system. We enable this setting by default when setting up each user profile. Wish that it was "on" by default instead of "off".
-David

answered on Jul 29, 2020 at 9:45pm  
I'm just an end user like yourself. You may have to contact RC support for other options.

answered on Apr 16, 2020 at 6:36am