question

Darrin Bonikowsky avatar image
Darrin Bonikowsky asked Phong Vu commented

Automatically and intelligently processing SMS attachments?

Hi there.

Newbie here, so please be kind :)

Is it theoretically possible to setup a phone number with an associated process in place to receive SMS messages that contain attachments, and to use the sending mobile number to automatically save those attachments to a specific local folder related to said sending number?

Thanks!

sms and text messaging
1 comment
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Phong Vu avatar image Phong Vu ♦♦ commented ·

I don't really understand your question. Can you explain in a use case scenario?

0 Likes 0 ·
Darrin Bonikowsky answered

You bet.

Let's say that I had a project management app that multiple users subscribed to and as part of that app's functionality I wanted to allow my users to send project photos from "the field" as SMS messages from their phones and have those project photos be automatically associated to their project in the PM software. If I had a database of known, identified sending phone numbers, I'd like to receive these SMS messages at one common number for all users and then, based on a match on the sending phone number, automatically save the project photo and associate it to the appropriate user.

Does that help?

Thanks.

1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

Phong Vu avatar image
Phong Vu answered

Thanks for the clarification! Not really clear but here is the solution based on what I guess.

1. You need to have an extension with a direct number, which is for receiving SMS/MMS from users on "the field".