question

Denny Thurston avatar image
Denny Thurston asked Becky-Community_Manager commented

Do I seriously need to start using opt-in for sms?

I have had this account and phone number for 7 years now and use this as my personal and primary line to call and text my clients. I have been using it for years.. I don't use it as a big campaign, or send out hundreds or thousands of messages at once. My clients have already agreed to talking to me with my outbound agents. Transitioning to using an opt-in will kill my responses from my clients with them thinking its a bot talking to them and not me. I will leave RingCentral if I have to use Opt-in and opt-out for this personal business line that I have been using for 7 years. Is there a way around this or am I misunderstanding this whole process?

sms and text messaging
13 comments
1 |3000

Up to 8 attachments (including images) can be used with a maximum of 1.0 MiB each and 10.0 MiB total.

brette-freedle3650 avatar image brette-freedle3650 commented ·

I've searched back through my emails and was unable to locate any from RC that referenced the TCR requirement, I only learned about this pursuant to the issue with outbound SMS not currently working (which may or may not be related to the TCR?). My RC Rep and/or RC should have been bombarding me with warnings about this months ago. And while the current RC clarifications regarding what constitutes consent, etc., are appreciated, the guidance comes a bit late for many of us and was not adequately explained in the printed guidance online. In any event for those concerned because they don't currently have an EIN you can usually get one (almost always immediately) through the IRS Online EIN https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/apply-for-an-employer-identification-number-ein-online at no cost.

2 Likes 2 ·
Maria Wilder avatar image Maria Wilder commented ·